Women in Circular Economy Leadership Scholarship

The Green Industries SA Women in Circular Economy Leadership Scholarship recognises the contribution of emerging and established women leaders making a positive contribution to South Australia's waste and resource recovery industry and related areas, such as the circular economy. South Australian women are invited to undertake a project which will create new ideas and innovation to assist the state to maintain its reputation as a leader in the waste sector.

 This scholarship is in memory of Pam Keating, a noted environmentalist and waste management expert who passionately believed in the importance of reducing waste and its impact on the environment.

Aim of the scholarship

The aim of the scholarship is to provide an opportunity for a South Australian woman who is an emerging or established leader working in the area of waste and resource recovery or related areas such, as the circular economy, to pursue an investigative project of a kind that is not readily available in South Australia.

No prescribed qualifications are required and the subject of the proposed project is limited to benefiting the waste industry and/or the waste management practices of a business or industry organisation in South Australia. Merit of the proposed project is a key factor and a desire to share the project's findings in South Australia and nationally.


In addition to the cash contribution, emerging leaders will be offered an opportunity for mentoring by an experienced woman executive leader in the waste/resource recovery sector.

Interested in applying? 

Find out more

Hear from previous scholarship winners

Hear from the previous winners of the Women in Circular Economy Leadership Scholarship as they speak about its impacts and benefits.

Karen Jones Hauser

The Goodside Project, 2023 scholarship winner

Penelope Morrison

NAWMA, 2022 scholarship winner

Shani Wood

City of Holdfast Bay, 2019 scholarship winner

Kat Heinrich

Rawtec, 2018 scholarship winner

Fiona Chambers

CAWRA, 2016 scholarship winner